What are Zodiac Signs? Everything you need to know

What are zodaic signs
Written by Robin Okwanma

In order to understand Zodiac signs well, we must understand the meaning of the terms ‘horoscope’, ‘astrology’ and the ‘Zodiac’. Astrology is the study of the stars – that is, the unique formations or groups of stars that appear in the night sky from one season/month to the next as the Earth revolves around the sun within the course of one year. These unique formations or groups of stars, called constellations, are visible at relatively fixed positions (and times) following one another, along an imaginary orbital belt across the heavens, running around the Sun. This motion of the Earth round the Sun gives us, the inhabitants of the Earth, the illusion that the Sun is moving across these constellations, even though it is actually motionless in the center of our solar system.

Brief History of Zodiac Signs

Over many centuries (if not thousands of years), each constellation has been represented with a particular symbol obtained by connecting the dots, or stars that form it together – producing a pattern very similar to an animal on the earth (except for signs such as Libra, or ‘scales’; Virgo or ‘virgin’ and some others). Hence the entire belt of constellations are referred to by the Greeks as the ‘Zodiac’ (the original Greek term was ‘zodiakos kyklos’ meaning ‘circle of animals’). Modern astronomy focuses on twelve of these constellations that appear regularly one after the other on certain dates in the night sky; though in reality there are more constellations that exist – and were known even from ancient times – not used in the modern Zodiac calendar.

Horoscope Meaning

Horoscope means using your birth date in relation to the Zodiac signs (and the movements of other celestial bodies such as the moon and other planets) to predict your fortune (time and again). Astrologers who have also studied religious writings (including Biblical scriptures) and prophecies assert that rather than just using the Zodiac to predict good or bad fortunes for people in relationships, business, health, wealth and so on as is used today – the Zodiac constellations are actual ‘signs’ from the Creator.

That prophetic messages are hidden in the constellations by God himself to reveal His plan – so each ‘sign’ is an image of God’s plan and is revealing a message to those who are willing to find out. Biblical personalities such as Job, David, Amos, some other prophets; as well as the Magi (three wise men) that visited Christ at birth strongly attested to the revelation of God’s plan through astrology.

And so the ancients back then (and the spiritual minded people of the modern day) have  learnt to seek into prophetic writings and revelations to further reveal the divine plan as shown in the Zodiac signs and astrology. The movements of other celestial bodies such as the other planets, the moon, even heavenly objects such as meteors, rainbows and more, play a strong role in predicting personal and global events both in ancient and modern astrology and the horoscope. Let us briefly examine each of the twelve Zodiac signs, its characteristics, and the personality traits of persons born within that Zodiac sign.

Zodiac Signs: A Quick Summary

The twelve Zodiac signs of the modern world are deemed slightly different from the way they were depicted in ancient times; and different ancient societies also had a slightly different version of the Zodiac – such as the Sumerian or Egyptian versions. But the modern rendition of the Zodiac with associated dates and characteristics are presented here.

  • Aries (March 21 – April 19)
  • Taurus (April 20 – May 20)
  • Gemini (May 21 – June 20)
  • Cancer (June 21 – July 22)
  • Leo (July 23 – August 22)
  • Virgo (August 23 – September 22)
  • Libra (September 23 – October 22)
  • Scorpio (October 23 – November 21)
  • Sagittarius (November 22 – December 21)
  • Capricorn (December 22 – January 19)
  • Aquarius (January 20 – February 18)
  • Pisces (February 19 – March 20)

Additionally, these Zodiac signs can also be classified according to the natural elements or forces closely associated with each sign. As such we have the:

  • Fire signs (Aries, Leo, Sagittarius): Passionate and exuberant
  • Earth signs (Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn): Practical and grounded;
  • Water signs (Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces): emotional and intuitive
  • Air signs (Gemini, Libra, Aquarius): Intellectual and curious.

Now we can have a glance into the general characteristics of each sign.


Represented by a ram, the Aries person is bold, ambitious, restless and lively, and loves to take leading roles. Aries takes on challenges and does not turn away from competition until he or she comes out victorious.


Represented by a bull, Taurus persons take their time to do everything, and can be stubborn and resolute. They are resilient, and never in a rush.


The symbol of Gemini is a pair of twins. Geminis are supremely curious and exploratory people, very communicative and witty. They are forever busy.


Symbolized by a crab, Cancer persons are very emotional, very loyal and compassionate.


The Leo is represented as a lion, a king or queen. Naturally leaders and courageous people, can be very dramatic, charismatic and passionate.


The traditional symbol for this down-to-Earth sign is a virgin or maiden. Known to be perfectionists, Virgos are very practical and analytic, though they love to help others.


Symbolized by weighing scales,  Libra persons have a deep desire to maintain balance, harmony and peace. They are romantic and artistic lovers. They may tend towards indecision.


The Scorpion sign comes with a very independent and passionate nature, mysterious and difficult to understand.


Symbolized by an archer, a Sagittarius person loves exploration, seeking knowledge, adventure and travel. They can be playful and outgoing in nature.


The goat with a fish tail is the insignia of this sign. They can be very ambitious and dedicated, willing to exert the patience and focus needed to achieve their goals and so do not give up easily.


Aquarius is represented with a water bearer logo. Aquarians can be very creative, intelligent and truthful, the revolutionists who seek for the world around them to become a better place.


Represented with two fishes in opposite directions, Pisces people are highly sensitive and intuitive, and can easily read the emotions of others. They have high levels of empathy.




You may not republish, reproduce, or redistribute any content on this website either in whole or in part without due permission or acknowledgment.
Proper acknowledgment includes, but not limited to;

(a) LINK BACK TO THE ARTICLE in the case of re-publication on online media,

(b) Proper referencing in the case of usage in research, magazine, brochure, or academic purposes,.
All contents are protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act 1996 (DMCA).

The images, except where otherwise indicated, are taken directly from the web, if some images were inserted by mistake violating the copyright, please contact the administrator for immediate removal.

We publish all content with good intentions. If you own this content & believe your copyright was violated or infringed, please contact us at [] for immediate removal.

About the author

Robin Okwanma

Hi, I'm Robin Okwanma. Software Engineer || Django, Python || React, React Native || Blogger. Technical Writer.